Department of Education Announces $115.3 Million for 124 Grants to Improve Teaching of American History

Last week, U.S. Secretary of Education Arne Duncan announced the award of $115.3 million to 124 school districts to improve the quality of teaching American history in our nation’s schools.

The Teaching American History grant program aims to enhance teachers’ understanding of American history through intensive professional development, including study trips to historic sites and mentoring with professional historians and other experts.

Projects are required to partner with organizations that have broad knowledge of American history, such as libraries, museums, nonprofit historical or humanities organizations, and higher education institutions.

Teaching American History grants are funded for a three-year period. They will be awarded to school districts in 40 states, the District of Columbia, and American Samoa.

Source: U.S. Department of Education

Teaching Safari study trips to historic sites: Graue Mill and the Underground Railroad; Chicago Southside – Pullman Neighborhood, Industry, and History; Chicago Money, Finance, and Government Tour; Lincoln in Chicago; Chicago Chinatown and Chinese in America

American History Grant Recipients
Following is a list of grantees by state. Included are the grant recipients, contacts and grant award amount for the first year of the grant.

•AL — HUNTSVILLE — Madison County Board of Education, Pamela Gothart, pgothart@madison.k12.al.us, $999,965.
•AS — PAGO PAGO — American Samoa Department of Education, Donna Gurr, gurrdonna@yahoo.com, $500,000.
•AZ — FLAGSTAFF — Flagstaff Unified School District #1, Barbara Hickman, bhickman@fusd1.org, $999,953.
•AZ — PHOENIX — Phoenix Union High School District, Gerry Petersen, jbaker@phxhs.k12.az.us, $1,000,000.
•CA — COSTA MESA — Orange County Superintendent of Schools, Deborah Granger, dgranger@ocde.us, $997,933.
•CA — FAIRFIELD — Solano County Superintendent of Schools, Stacey Greer, sbgreer@ucdavis.edu, $1,000,000.
•CA — GLENDALE — Glendale Unified School District, Joanna Junge, jjunge@gusd.net, $999,962.
•CA — HAYWARD — Alameda County Office of Education, Avi Black, ablack@acoe.org, $999,954.
•CA — LAKE ELSINORE — Lake Elsinore Unified School District, Nancy Andrzejczak, nancy.andrzejczak@leusd.k12.ca.us, $999,966.
•CA — LONG BEACH — Long Beach Unified School District, Linda Mehlbrech, lmehlbrech@lbschools.net, $980,580.
•CA — LOS ANGELES — Los Angeles Unified School District, Michael Reed, michael.reed@lausd.net, $1,998,978.
•CA — MISSION VIEJO — Saddleback Valley Unified School District, Gloria Roelen, roelen@svusd.org, $998,659.
•CA — MOORPARK — Moorpark Unified School District, Larry Jones, ljones@mrpk.org, $998,946.
•CA — PICO RIVERA — El Rancho Unified School District, Susanna Smith, ssmith@erusd.k12.ca.us, $966,999.
•CA — REDDING — Shasta County Office of Education, Tom Forbes, tforbes@shastacoe.org, $985,658.
•CA — RICHMOND — West Contra Costa Unified School District, Natalie Wojinski, natalie.wojinski@gmail.com, $996,368.
•CA — SAN BERNARDINO — San Bernardino County Schools, Angela Dorough, angela_dorough@sbcss.k12.ca.us, $1,987,156.
•CA — SAN MARCOS — San Marcos Unified School District, Gina Bishop, gina.bishop@smusd.org, $822,216.
•CA — UKIAH — Mendocino County Office of Education, Nancy Rogers-Zegarra, nrogers@mcoe.us, $1,000,000.
•CO — COLORADO SPRINGS — Colorado Springs School District 11, Jessica Sharp, sharpjr@d11.org, $999,154.
•CO — FOUNTAIN — El Paso County School District 8, Debbie Pierre, dpierre@ffc8.org, $995,116.
•CT — NORTH HAVEN — Area Cooperative Educational Services, Leslie Abbatiello, labbatiello@aces.org, $997,208.
•DC — WASHINGTON — District of Columbia Public Schools, Ryan Montgomery, ryan.montgomery@dc.gov, $964,315.
•DE — WILMINGTON — Red Clay Consolidated School District, Rebecca Reed, rebecca.reed@redclay.k12.de.us, $997,646.
•FL — FORT LAUDERDALE — School Board of Broward County, Shellie Gory, shellie.gory@browardschools.com, $983,121.
•FL — FORT MYERS — School District of Lee County, Cindy Mcclung, jimwb@leeschools.net, $989,753.
•FL — JACKSONVILLE — Duval County Public Schools, Michele Green, greenm2@duvalschools.org, $999,998.
•FL — KEY WEST — Monroe County School District, Jeanne Sanford, jeanne.sanford@keysschools.com, $500,000.
•FL — KISSIMMEE — School District of Osceola County, Scott Fritz, fritzs@osceola.k12.fl.us, $999,364.
•FL — OCALA — Marion County Public Schools, Christine Sandy, christine.sandy@marion.k12.fl.us, $949,248.
•FL — WEST PALM BEACH — School District of Palm Beach County, Ana Dowling, tarafaa@palmbeach.k12.fl.us, $951,782.
•GA — DALLAS — Paulding County School District, Vince Fulghum, vfulghum@paulding.k12.ga.us, $984,536.
•GA — MARIETTA — Cobb County School District, Martha Battle, martha.battle@cobbk12.org, $999,425.
•GA — SAVANNAH — Savannah-Chatham County Public School System, Leah Colby, leah.colby@sccpss.com, $1,000,000.
•GA — SUWANNE — Gwinnett County Public Schools, Deborah Daniell, debbie_daniell@gwinnett.k12.ga.us, $927,763.
•ID — GRANGEVILLE — Mountain View School District #244, Wayne Carroll, wcarroll@lcsc.edu, $998,769.
•ID — LEWISTON — Independent School District No. 1, Ellen Perconti, ellenp@lewiston.k12.id.us, $494,457.
•IN — FORT WAYNE — Fort Wayne Community Schools, Nancy Stansberry, nancy.stansberry@fwcs.k12.in.us, $999,998.
•IN — GOSHEN — Goshen Community School Corporation, Rashella Wilfong, swilfong@goshenschools.org, $499,608.
•IN — MUNCIE — Indiana Academy for Science, Mathematics, and Humanities, David Williams, dwilliam@bsu.edu, $999,990.
•IN — RICHMOND — Richmond Community Schools, Susan Hively, shively@rcs.k12.in.us, $489,884.
•KS — HUTCHINSON — ESSDACK, Terry Fehrenbach, terryf@essdack.org, $943,418.
•KS — OLATHE — Olathe District Schools #233, Maureen Donegan, mdoneganirc@olatheschools.com, $814,862.
•KY — ASHLAND — Kentucky Educational Development Cooperative, Belinda Bowling, belinda.bowling@kedc.org, $999,978.
•KY — COVINGTON — Covington Independent School District, Rick Ross, rick.ross@covington.kyschools.us, $499,974.
•KY — HINDMAN — Knott County Board of Education, Dustin Combs, dustin.combs@knott.kyschools.us, $475,366.
•KY — MURRAY — West Kentucky Educational Cooperative, John Settle, john.settle@wkec.org, $997,072.
•KY — SHELBYVILLE — Ohio Valley Educational Cooperative, Karla Gibbs, kgibbs@ovec.org, $998,739.
•LA — NEW ORLEANS — Algiers Charter Schools Association, Karl Asher, stuart.gay@theacsa.org, $999,750.
•LA — SHREVEPORT — Caddo Parish School Board, Michael Sartisky, sartisky@leh.org, $996,587.
•MA — ARLINGTON — Arlington Public Schools, Kerry Dunne, kdunne@arlington.k12.ma.us, $999,990.
•MA — DEDHAM — The Education Cooperative, Gail Ross-Mcbride, gail@tec-coop.org, $997,660.
•MA — HUNTINGTON — Gateway Regional School District, Patricia Gardner, pgardner@wsc.ma.edu, $958,247.
•MD — CHESTERTOWN — Kent County Public Schools, Christopher Cerino, ccerino@sultanaprojects.org, $954,822.
•MD — ELLICOTT CITY — Howard County Public School System, Mark Stout, mstout@hcpss.org, $999,445.
•MD — ROCKVILLE — Montgomery County Public Schools, Maria Tarasuk, maria_l_tarasuk@mcpsmd.org, $999,918.
•MI — ALPENA — Alpena-Montmorency-Alcona Educational Service District, Gary Goren, goreng@amaesd.k12.mi.us, $498,252.
•MI — STANTON — Montcalm Area Intermediate School District, Rebecca Bush, rjbush@ioniaisd.org, $999,991.
•MO — AURORA — Aurora School District R8, Anne Shadwick, anne@southwestcenter.org, $998,901.
•MO — CHESTERFIELD — Parkway C-2 School District, Elizabeth Morrison, emorrison@pkwy.k12.mo.us, $735,017.
•MS — CORINTH — Corinth School District, Kimberly Jobe, kjobe@corinth.k12.ms.us, $999,990.
•MS — MCCOMB — McComb School District, Lia Landrum, lia.landrum@hotmail.com, $1,000,000.
•MT — GREAT FALLS — Great Falls Public Schools, Robert Rydell, rwrydell@montana.edu, $982,962.
•NC — WASHINGTON — Beaufort County Schools, Michele Oros, moros@beaufort.k12.nc.us, $442,636.
•NE — FREMONT — Educational Service Unit #2, Diane Wolfe, dmwolfe@esu2.org, $985,101.
•NE — OMAHA — Omaha Public Schools, Harris Payne, harris.payne@ops.org, $999,602.
•NJ — ALLAMUCHY — Allamuchy Township School District, Bradford Wilson, bpwilson@princeton.edu, $946,425.
•NJ — BRIDGETON — Bridgeton Public Schools, James Coyne, mcoyne@bridgeton.k12.nj.us, $498,780.
•NJ — CAMDEN — Camden City Schools, Loretta Gronau, lgronau@camden.k12.nj.us, $497,994.
•NJ — EWING — Ewing Public Schools, Bradford Wilson, bpwilson@princeton.edu, $946,425.
•NJ — LINDEN — Linden Public Schools, Bradford Wilson, bpwilson@princeton.edu, $951,675.
•NJ — RIDGEWOOD — Ridgewood Public Schools, Hank Bitten, hbitten@optonline.net, $999,479.
•NJ — WEST ORANGE — West Orange High School District, Bradford Wilson, bpwilson@princeton.edu, $946,425.
•NM — RIO RANCHO — Rio Rancho Public Schools, Martha Fenstermacher, mafenstermacherabq@yahoo.com, $999,182.
•NV — RENO — Washoe County School District, Kristen Mcneill, kmcneill@washoe.k12.nv.us, $999,459.
•NY — BRONX — New York City Department of Education CSD 8, Philip Panaritis, ppanari@schools.nyc.gov, $999,410.
•NY — BRONX — Community School District 12, Emily Sintz, esintz@schools.nyc.gov, $988,506.
•NY — BROOKLYN — Community School District 32, Deborah Nasta, dnasta@schools.nyc.gov, $966,723.
•NY — FALLSBURG — Fallsburg Central School District, Ivan Katz, ikatz@fallsburgcsd.net, $999,990.
•NY — FLUSHING — New York City Community School District 23, Gus Hatzidimitriou, ghatzid@schools.nyc.gov, $997,919.
•NY — FLUSHING — NYC Dept of Education Community School District 29, Constantine Hatzidimitriou, ghatzid@schools.nyc.gov, $960,290.
•NY — FLUSHING — NYC Dept of Education Community School District 18, Constantine Hatzidimitriou, ghatzid@schools.nyc.gov, $958,693.
•NY — NEW PALTZ — Ulster County Board of Cooperative Educational Services, Danielle Yeomans, dyeomans@ulsterboces.org, $999,982.
•NY — NEW YORK — New York City Department of Education, District 75, Carmen Amador, camador@school.nyc.gov, $821,282.
•NY — NEW YORK — Amber Charter School, Vasthi Reyes-Acosta, vacosta@ambercharter.org, $499,998.
•NY — NEW YORK — Harlem Day Charter School, Curtis Palmore, cpalmore@hdcsny.org, $490,666.
•NY — ROCHESTER — Rochester City School District, Jennifer Gkourlias, jennifer.gkourlias@rcsdk12.org, $1,000,000.
•NY — SYRACUSE — Onondaga-Cortland-Madison BOCES, Daryll Wheeler, dwheeler@ocmboces.org, $989,497.
•NY — UTICA — Utica City School District, Jamie Hanretty, jahanretty@uticacsd.org, $963,574.
•NY — WARSAW — Warsaw School District, Jessica Derwin, jderwin@warsaw.k12.ny.us, $491,400.
•NY — WEST NYACK — Rockland Bureau Of Cooperative Educational Services, Charlene Jordan, cjordan@rboces.org, $999,886.
•OH — CANTON — Stark County Educational Service Center, Sharon Hays, sbhays@uakron.edu, $990,006.
•OH — CINCINNATI — Cincinnati City School District, Carolyn Pedapati, pedapac@cpsboe.k12.oh.us, $508,663.
•OH — EATON — Preble County Educational Service Center, Joanele Hoce, joanele_hoce@preblenet.preble.k12.oh.us, $999,239.
•OH — HAMILTON — Hamilton City School District, Everett Mann, hasa_em@swoca.net, $1,000,000.
•OH — YOUNGSTOWN — Mahoning County Educational Service Center, Sandra Williams, se.williams@mahoningesc.org, $997,098.
•OK — ARKOMA — Arkoma Public School District, Bill Corbett, corbett@nsuok.edu, $991,439.
•OR — MEDFORD — Southern Oregon Education Service District, Joe Peterson, joe_peterson@soesd.k12.or.us, $983,906.
•PA — PHILADELPHIA — School District of Philadelphia, Melvin Garrison, mgarrison@philasd.org, $966,706.
•PA — WILLIAMSPORT — BLaST Intermediate Unit 17, Cori Cotner, ccotner@iu17.org, $993,039.
•RI — LINCOLN — Lincoln Public School Department, Morgan Grefe, mgrefe@rihs.org, $934,587.
•SC — ANDERSON — Anderson County School District Five, Jeff Wilson, jeffwilson@anderson5.net, $999,741.
•SC — CHARLESTON — Charleston County School District, Nancy Mcginley, superintendent@charleston.k12.sc.us, $993,578.
•SC — GREENWOOD — Greenwood School District 50, Domer Ridings, dridings@lander.edu, $991,668.
•SD — PLATTE — Mid Central Educational Cooperative, Joseph Graves, joseph.graves@k12.sd.us, $964,871.
•TN — CHATTANOOGA — Hamilton County Schools, Janis Kyser, jkyser@clevelandschools.org, $999,156.
•TN — CLINTON — Anderson County Board of Education, Lisa Oakley, oakley@east-tennessee-history.org, $968,809.
•TN — DUNLAP — Sequatchie County School District, Henry Camp, camph@k12tn.net, $499,956.
•TN — PIKEVILLE — Bledsoe County Schools, Janis Kyser, jkyser@clevelandschools.org, $998,667.
•TN — SHELBYVILLE — Bedford County Schools, Betsy Norris, norrisb@bedfordk12tn.net, $999,981.
•TX — FORT WORTH — Fort Worth Independent School District, Tracy Marshall, tracy.marshall@fwisd.org, $1,000,000.
•UT — SALT LAKE CITY — Granite School District, Debra Cline, dscline@graniteschools.org, $978,813.
•UT — TOOELE — Tooele County School District, Heidi Ross, hross@tooeleschools.org, $499,989.
•UT — WEST JORDAN — Jordan School District, Pam S’Ua, pamela.sua@jordan.k12.ut.us, $999,550.
•VA — ASHBURN — Loudoun County Public Schools, William Brazier, william.brazier@loudoun.k12.va.us, $999,910.
•VA — CHESTERFIELD — Chesterfield County Public Schools, William Obrochta, wpbrpchta@vahistorical.org, $960,655.
•VA — WINCHESTER — Frederick County Public Schools, Robert Jacobs, jacobsr@verizon.net, $999,547.
•VA — WYTHEVILLE — Wythe County Public Schools, Barbara Willis, bmw7c@uvawise.edu, $1,000,000.
•VT — BRATTLEBORO — Windham Southeast Supervisory Union, Sarah Rooker, sarah.rooker@gmail.com, $958,512.
•VT — SOUTH BURLINGTON — South Burlington School District, John Everitt, jeveritt@sbschools.net, $999,993.
•WA — LYNNWOOD — Edmonds School District No. 15, Sarah Schumacher, schumachers@edmonds.wednet.edu, $999,845.
•WA — WASHOUGAL — Washougal School District 112-6, Carol Boyden, carol.boyden@washougal.k12.wa.us, $996,999.
•WV — CLARKSBURG — RESA 7, Gabriel Devono, gjdevono@access.k12.wv.us, $999,992.
•WY — CHEYENNE — Laramie County School District #1, Marc Lahiff, lahiffm@laramie1.org, $995,227.

Share and Enjoy:
  • Facebook
  • Google
  • LinkedIn
  • StumbleUpon
  • TwitThis

Leave a Reply